Christianity 201

May 28, 2013

From My I Can’ts To God’s I Can

Filed under: Uncategorized — paulthinkingoutloud @ 5:49 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

There are certain ‘go-to’ blogs where I know I can always find good content. One of those is Claire in Auckland, New Zealand who writes at One Passion, One Devotion.  This appeared there at last week’s Five Minute Friday feature.

Psalm 121:1 I lift up my eyes to the hills— where does my help come from?Psalm 123:1  I lift up my eyes to you, to you whose throne is in heaven.

2 Corinthians 4:18 So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

Colossians 3:1  Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.

There is just “something” about lifting our eyes, about looking with a different perspective and vantage point. 

i will lift my eyes from my i cants, to God’s i can

i will lift my eyes from my limitations, to God’s nothing is impossible

i will lift my eyes from my flaws, to God’s gift of forgiveness and righteousness through Christ

i will lift my eyes from my loneliness, to God’s promise that He is with me

i will lift my eyes from my exhaustion, to God’s invitation to come

i will lift my eyes from my excuses, to God’s encouragement that i can do all things through Christ who strengthens me

Sometimes we may never know the WHY something happens. But we can always know the WHO. And we can be confident that God is always with us. Always. 

He is our view.  Let us fix our eyes upon Him, the author and perfecter of our faith.

Hear, O Lord, when I cry with my voice!
Have mercy also upon me, and answer me.
When You said, “Seek My face,”
My heart said to You, “Your face, Lord, I will seek.” ~ Psalm 27:7-8

 With so much instability and fear in the world today, we must cling to Jesus and fix our eyes on Him and view life through the eyes of trust and faith. God is always good. In every challenge and every circumstance, He is good. He can always be trusted. He is in the business of turning anything bad into everything good. He breaks open prison doors, He sends whales as coast guards, He tells the paralyzed to get up and walk. And He raises the dead to life.

Perspective matters. Perspective changes death into life. Perspective changes hopelessness into hope. Fear into faith. Crisis into opportunities to grow and trust God.

Instead of letting difficulties draw you into worrying, try to view them as setting the scene for God’s glorious intervention.

1 Comment »

  1. thank you so much for sharing my post – i feel really honoured and humbled! have a fantastic week!

    Comment by fireball3316 — May 28, 2013 @ 6:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

